2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A simple fix the brake oil reservoir leak.

Search this Thread

Old 7/8/06, 09:41 PM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A simple fix the brake oil reservoir leak.

$.45 at ACE hardware. This looks like a fender washer but is soft and black. Neoprene washer 1/16 thick X 3/16 inside X 1 1/2 outside. Take off the cap, remove the factory liner, place the Neoprene washer in center of cap, replace the factory liner, replace cap.

No more leaking.

Disclaimer: I'm not a certified mechanic, do at your own risk.
Old 7/9/06, 12:06 PM
Cobra Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sounds like an awesome idea! One thing that confuses me though. By installing this liner you're introducing a foreign object to the brake fluid reservoir. How do you minimize the risk of contaminating the brake fluid?
Old 7/9/06, 08:02 PM
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts
Originally Posted by Martimus
Sounds like an awesome idea! One thing that confuses me though. By installing this liner you're introducing a foreign object to the brake fluid reservoir. How do you minimize the risk of contaminating the brake fluid?
No, I did the same thing with another washer type.
It never touches the fluid. You put it between the cap and the factory rubber.
I have no leak now.
Old 7/12/06, 08:15 AM
Team Mustang Source

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Sounds like Ford needs to buy a crap load of washers and do this at the factory!!!!!!!!!!!!! By the way I'm going to my local Ace hardware store today. Thanks Bruce.
Old 7/14/06, 05:37 PM
Mach 1 Member

Originally Posted by Badsnke98
$.45 at ACE hardware. This looks like a fender washer but is soft and black. Neoprene washer 1/16 thick X 3/16 inside X 1 1/2 outside. Take off the cap, remove the factory liner, place the Neoprene washer in center of cap, replace the factory liner, replace cap.

No more leaking.