Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

GT manual Shifter issues

Search this Thread

Old 7/22/14, 10:46 AM
Cobra Member

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts
GT manual Shifter issues

Ok everyone. I have read countess threads and coments on the issues with Noisy,Cluncking, notching etc shifting in these cars. The answer seems to be allot of things. Shifter, Bracket trans mount.

Since I'm an engineer no of those answer make any sense. I have had allot of manuals in my day and none of them with these issues?

I was going to buy a SRT challenger and they do not have the issues. I know it is a different and better transmission.

So what is really causing the issue? I would like to fix it but the shifter is not the issue. is it the shifting rods? The transmission it self what?

Mine after about 30 minutes of driving shifts fantastic.
Old 7/22/14, 11:13 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I guess im lucky, I have a 13 GT and stock shifter. Has the 401a shift ball.
I have no problems that people complain about. I have 5k miles on it. No crunching, nothing. I guess the only issue I have seen is once in a while when accelerating hard, its a pain to hit 3rd, but that's only happened a few times.
Old 7/22/14, 11:56 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
I am also an engineer. While I agree with you to some extent. There is solid merit to some of these solutions.... The shifter bracket is defiantly an issue. have you looked at it? Its a big piece of rubber with a thin metal band around it. How do you expect that to keep your shifter from torquing around under hard acceleration/shifting? Also, if its not pulling in a straight line on the linkages becasue its shifting around I could see how that could cause some notchiness. The noise/clucking,crunching I would agree has to be something else. Something with the bearings? Linkages? Cruddy syncros?
Old 7/22/14, 11:59 AM
Cobra R Member

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts