Sponsored By:

2012 MUSTANG V6 - NEW BREAK IN ENGINE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 7/11/11, 11:57 AM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 MUSTANG V6 - NEW BREAK IN ENGINE HELP

Hey Everyone,

I am fairly new to this and this is my first brand new car. I Just got a 2012 Mustang V6 Premium.

I got the car with about 80km (sorry for the metrics to my fellow Americans), I now have about 700km after a few days of driving.

I was trying to break in the engine like many people have suggested. However, of course within hours of being on the road, I get these little kids with souped up civics trying to rev their engine at me..... I couldn't take it no more and I had to see how much power this beast had.....

After punching the gun on this bad boy.... i realized that I probably shouldnt have done that. Anyways, my question is....

1) is there really a break in period? if so, did i mess it up by racings about 5 or 6 times and of course i accidentally redlined a couple times and grinded the gears about 3 times trying to figure out the feel of the car when racing.

2) I average about 18/100km .....is this normal? or will it get lower as the engine breaks in because the manual and window sticker says i should be averaging about 11.1/100km with city driving.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 7/11/11, 12:29 PM

the consensus is to just basically vary your RPM (i.e. don't just cruise for a long period on the highway) and take it to red line once a day or a few, but not too many times
Old 7/11/11, 12:32 PM
V6 Member

Thanks, for the most part i have been changing up speeds (not going more than 80km other than those few times i raced)

do you have any suggestions for doing the first few oil changes? i wanted to switch over to full synthetic but i heard it shouldnt be done until at least 5000km

however should i be doing an oil change at like 1000km, 3000km and then start regular intervals at 5000km for every 5000km?
Old 7/11/11, 12:43 PM
Mach 1 Member