GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Hood scoop install

Search this Thread

Old 5/16/07, 09:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Hood scoop install

Hello,,

This is my first post and I look forward to many more.....anyway, Friday evening I am buying a 2005 GT convertible, 5-speed and want to install a Roush hood scoop, has anyone here done it? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

This will be just the first of many mods I want to perform, BTW, this will be my ninth Mustang!! I have been driving them since 1978!!

Thank you!!

Mike
Old 5/16/07, 12:35 PM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Welcome to the forum Mike ... I don't have the scoop , but I sure someone who does will chime in ...
Old 5/16/07, 01:06 PM
Cobra R Member

Not a fan of the roush scoop, but I cant imagine 7 holes being too hard to drill. If you don't want to risk it have a good body shop do it
Old 5/16/07, 03:22 PM
Cobra R Member

I don't have the Roush, but I did drill several holes for my Boss 429 scoop...

tape off the area to be drilled, use a center punch to keep the drill bit from traveling, and MEASURE MEASURE MEASURE!!!

I think the Roush comes with a template, too.
Old 5/16/07, 03:35 PM
Dethroned Nascar Guru

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
For a little extra money ($500 more) you could buy a trufiber hood with built in functional hood scoop. The hood scoop looks very similiar to the Roush one.
Old 5/16/07, 03:48 PM

Thank you guys for the nice welcome, hmmmm.......Ya' know I really like the car with the old Boss 429 hoodscoop, that looks really good, even better than the Roush!!!!
Thanks for the input guys, not sure what direction I want to take, who sells the Boss style scoop so I can compare prices.

Thanks again guys.

Mike
Old 5/16/07, 04:17 PM
Cobra R Member

Originally Posted by threetwos